10
Feb
11

Stashitty-stash

I wanna show you some stash, most of which is not new but I just got around to photographing.I’m really jazzed about this skein right now:

It’s Island Yarns, which I bought in 10/09 during our 10th-anniversary trip to Bar Harbor. It’s 70% wool 30% silk, bulky weight, about 175 yards or so. I’m borderline frantic to knit it up as a spring accessory, & last night tried casting on Pequito with it. I made a few mistakes in chart B and ripped the whole thing out to start again, but I really don’t think I have enough yarn. Especially considering the size 9 needle I used was a little too tight, and I’d go up to a 10. Grrrr.

I’m not sure about a hat with the silk content. I don’t want it to stretch out. I’d love a shawl/ette, but can’t find a pattern. Maybe mitts? Not interested in a cowl or short scarf. Can anyone help me??

Next – my 6 skeins of Rowan Denim:

I snagged them on sale for a shawl after I was inspired by Stephen‘s Denim Boneyard shawl (which I got to fondle in person.) I have this yarn queued up for Maya.

Central Yarn Shop in Portland is great for yarn like this:

They often have baskets in the floor full of off-dyelot skeins of Lamb’s Pride Worsted or Bulky. This isn’t the first one I’ve snagged from them. Quincy, maybe? (Speaking of Quincy, I got to fondle and try on a sample at The Woolery & fell more in love. I think I’ve been hesitating due to its “interesting construction”, but no more.)

Last but not least, 8 skeins of Reynolds Cricket at $2.49/skein from Marden’s:

But dammit! It’s DK weight!! So 900 yards is NOT a great amount of DK weight for my needs. Basically too much for some things (which is fine of course) and too little for others (like the short-sleeve pullover I was envisioning.) I have a question – Rav calls it DK weight with a gauge of 5sts/1″ on size 5 needles. Doesn’t that make it worsted on 5s? An inch is an inch, right? I’m confused about gauge and different yarn weights these days.

Still, beautiful yarn with a really nice feel in a favorite colorway of mine – blue/grey. Into the stash it goes.

0 Responses to “Stashitty-stash”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

