20
Jan
11

FOs: Warm Wooly Winter

I’ve been working on winter warmth lately. That’s my zone, & likely because my icicle-feet, I’ve been focused on socks. And my guide has been one of the guru-queens on sock knitting – Ann Budd. I pounded out this 5 Stitches Per Inch pair for O out of Encore worsted (& eternal thanks to Ellen for suggesting this particular book):

And this 5 Stitches Per Inch pair for Soph in acrylic:

I love the girlie stripey pair. Fun. Guess she’s been weating them a lot! I’m working on aanother 5 Stitched Per Inch pair for her mom with the leftovers plus some white acrylic from the stash.

In there somewhere, I couldn’t resist the siren song of my latest Malabrigo purchase – a skein of Merino Worsted in the Vaa colorway:

So here is hubby’s Claudia. I love the way it turned out!

I used size 6 & 8 needles vs. the 4 and 6 ones called for in the pattern. DH has a large head. Worked great! Also a great pattern to practice cabling without a needle. 

With more snow coming tonight, these woolies should be getting some use.

0 Responses to “FOs: Warm Wooly Winter”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

