16
Dec
10

The Deirdre Shawl(ette)

I made this Deirdre shawl for my mom’s cousin for Christmas. It was a pretty last-minute thing, so it became one of those WIPs that took all my stitchin’ time over the last 5 days. (The color is true in the first photo only!)

Notes:

* I screwed up the lace in a couple different rows, but I don’t think it matters a whole lot.

* I think I need a tutorial on using blocking wires. Look at the edging!! It got stretched out by the wires due to how I slid them in, but I think it kinda works out OK.

* I messed up the outer YOs in the stockinette section, which I think made the shawl more stout, and maybe smaller overall? So I guess I should be calling it a shawlette.

* I loved knitting this up with Quince & Co.‘s Chickadee, in colorway Cypress. I bought these two skeins on a whim becasue the color is TO DIE FOR. But I also love Chickadee’s sproing factor – it’s got nice bounce.

I’m now plugging away on the very last Christmas knit of the season – thank GOD. I’ll be happy to get back to some selfish knitting.  {grumble bah humbug grumble}

0 Responses to “The Deirdre Shawl(ette)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

