23
Jul
10

Sprout

OK, so indeed there will be no baby FOs here until Halloween-ish. Sorry, all. She just canNOT be trusted. đŸ™‚

So, at looong last, here is my mom in Sprout! Happy 5-months-late birthday!

Where to begin with this knit…….It was definitely not particularly difficult – just somewhat tedious for me. This doesn’t really make sense as it has a fair amount of interesting cabling thrown in. What was difficult was the seaming. OMG. I basically ended up whipstitching the whole thing except the sides, which I did in garter mattress stitch but had to sacrifice more ease than I wanted to in the process. I mangled one sleeve so badly when trying to detatch it from the body that I had to knit a 3rd sleeve. But in the end – voila! I think it came out pretty good! And I’ve even seen her wear it out in public.

I skipped the shaping and slightly lengthened the sleeves. I used GGH Tara yarn, a cotton/microfiber blend that I liked aside from a few too many knots.

After about 5 months of Sprout, I’m moving on! Enjoy Memere!!

1 Response to “Sprout”


  1. 1 Liz
    July 23, 2010 at 8:40 pm

    Wonderful! The color looks fantastic on your Mom, too. Seaming is such a pain, isn’t it? It was definitely worth the effort because this turned out so lovely. GREAT JOB!


Leave a Reply

