29
Mar
10

OK, so how about some early-to-mid 70s action?

I kid you not. While I was not the recipient of any actual fiber yesterday, I did get some new knitting treats from Mom. On paper. In mint condition. I got two words for you – reh. tro.

{There’s some crochet and needlepoint stuff too that I won’t be keeping.} It seems clear that my mom had grander knitting ambitions than she ended up fulfilling. It’s all stuff for juniors, children and adults – no babies stuff, even though babies were the name of her game in the 70s. I’m willing to bet those patterns just didn’t survive.

Wonder if I’ll have a knitting daughter-in-law someday? I’ll bet I would be her favorite. mother-in-law. ever.

3 Responses to “OK, so how about some early-to-mid 70s action?”


  1. 1 meg
    March 29, 2010 at 3:25 pm

    o.m.g.
    i don’t know why but mum still continues to amaze me with her pakrat-ness.

  2. 2 amy
    March 29, 2010 at 3:29 pm

    Those are pretty cool. The (now-defunct) used bookstore had a pile of old knitting patterns one day, and I’m still kicking myself for not buying the whole lot of them and sifting through them for the good ones. When I went back, they were gone.

    My mil is a used-to-be knitter. She says she doesn’t have time now. It’s too bad, because it wouldn’t hurt to have a point of connection… on the other hand, I love knitting for my kids and would probably be bugged if it turned into yet another way to undermine me. Hmm. Things to think about if I get a knitting dil!! I know someone who only knits things like hats for her kids because her mil is such an accomplished knitter she–the mom/dil–feels it wouldn’t be worth it for her to attempt a sweater for her own kids when her mil can just do it better. That would just make me sad.

  3. 3 Jenn
    March 29, 2010 at 9:36 pm

    Oh, like we aren’t all overly ambitious? I am pretty sure my kids will be like “WTF was mom thinking? That she would really use all thus yarn and these books of patterns?” seriously.


Leave a Reply

