26
Mar
10

Let’s go back to 1978.

My parents are about to sell their home of 23 years and move to a 4-room condo. Needless to say, there is some serious clearing-out going on right now at the homestead. We all are being reminded yet again, although maybe to a new extreme, of what a packrat my mom is. It’s a touch scary a lot of the time, but occasionally something fun turns up.

My grandmother taught my mom. My mom taught my sister, and my sister taught me. The above WIP is the work of my mom. This blanket-in-progress apparentlyhas been moved by my parents from place to place since the late 70s, only to now find its way to me.  She gave me the leftover yarn a few months back, and finally came across the blanket itself only recently.

The booklet is from 1978, and yes – those are size 50 needles. Looks like maybe 3 strands of bulky acrylic knit together on size 50s. Since she had 2 kids under 5 and a third on the way, I’ll just chalk it up to that, um, situation. Maybe this was a sanity check, Jackie-style. Someday I’d like to finish it!

Thanks, Mum! Nice work. We’ll just blame Meg’s arrival (or the size 50 needles) for its unfinished state.

4 Responses to “Let’s go back to 1978.”


  1. 1 Christine
    March 26, 2010 at 6:05 pm

    Gotta tell ya, you’ve got to complete the blanket for your Mom!

  2. 2 Memere
    March 27, 2010 at 7:37 am

    I thought the size 50 needles would help me finish it. Alas, the power of small children.
    Wait til you see what I found yesterday.

  3. 4 meg
    March 29, 2010 at 9:43 am

    humph. doesn’t seem fair that i got blamed for that.


Leave a Reply

