11
Mar
10

FO: Wicked

Wah. Yet another garment for me that’s not quite right. First, it was a short-sleeve top in Berroco Comfort that a) pooled weirdly, & b) is a little small. Then it was the beloved FLS, which I love but the sleeves annoy me slightly b/c they’re just the wrong length, KWIM?

Now, it’s Wicked, knit up out of Ella Rae Amity:

It was a fun knit, but the fit is a little off in a couple ways. One, it’s a little too short. I wanted it 1/2″ or so longer but was afraid of running out of yarn. Two, the neckline is a little wonky. I didn’t want it to be so wide, but it ended up cutting a little bit across the front of my neck. It’s OK, but not great.

I opted for very few decreases after the bust and for extra increases at the hips. Good call. And I definitely would have preferred better yarn. But I had this in my stash – right amount, nice color, washable. It was originally purchased with the boys in mind………..maybe shoulda kept it that way.

I think the pattern is great – I think my execution of it was slightly less good. I still need to try wearing it around. Maybe I’ll actually rework the neck a little bit. We shall see.

4 Responses to “FO: Wicked”


  1. March 12, 2010 at 6:54 am

    I think your sweater looks great ! I must try the Henley though ~ rather cute pattern!

  2. March 12, 2010 at 11:07 am

    The sweater is beautiful, it sucks that it doesn’t fit right! I think that’s why I’ve shied away from knitting sweaters- there’s so much work involved, and I’ve had a few disasters!

    Hope you love the next one!

  3. 3 Beth
    March 12, 2010 at 12:40 pm

    I’m glad I’m not the only one with this problem. I feel like my fit success rate is about 20%.

  4. 4 gumbygoogoo
    March 12, 2010 at 1:17 pm

    I’m wearing it today, and I’m thinking my raglan increases are a little too short. {sigh}


Leave a Reply

