31
Jan
10

M’gonigle

So, the Habitat hat I made DH a while back ended up being too big. And on a whim, I experimented with felting it down to size. Um, no. Damn – guess I gotta make him another hat!! 🙂

This is M’gonigle from the wonderful Twist Collective. I enjoyed this pattern, & became easy to repeat after a while. It’s a long tube to knit due to the unique closure at the top (no decreases), but the cables and ribs were simple.

Here’s that top I mentioned, created via 3-needle bind-off and tacking down the corners. Fun!

The yarn is Reynolds Whiskey I bought in Standish, a sport-weight wool in a brown heather color (#59). I enjoyed knitting it up, & DH seems to enjoy wearing it. The mystery? Why I used sooooo much less yarn than called for. Like barely 2/3 the called-for yardage. Sure, I knit a little tight, but really. Apparently, it fits him fine, so I have no clue what’s up wit dat.

I do love a knit hat. Yay!!!

2 Responses to “M’gonigle”


  1. February 2, 2010 at 8:23 pm

    Hi there!
    I found your blog through ravelry, and I wanted to say hello! I really like that hat- the construction is so different. I’m Kate from Maine, too. Take care!


Leave a Reply

