20
Jan
10

Smooth, or Ribbed?

I conducted an inadvertent, yet interesting, experiment recently on socks. I knit two pairs of socks from Getting Started Knitting Socks in identical Plymouth Encore yarn. 

Both pairs had legs in 2×2 rib.  But on the second pair, I accidentally continued the rib down the foot. Eh, I figured, I generally like some flexibility in the foot. I’ll go with it.

My older son’s socks, with the plain feet, fit him great.

My twin boys have slightly different sized feet, but the socks fit horribly on both of them.

Now granted, it’s possible I was waaaaaay off on the sizing of this pair. But I really don’t think I was. I think they aren’t hugging the foot enough and are slouching right down. I’m constantly catching their sock heels halfway down their feet. I’m bummed, & slightly puzzled. I’ve knit a lot of socks where the pattern continues down the foot – I might say that most patterns do!

If you have any thoughts or insights, lemme know! In the meantime, they’re wearing that pair of socks anyway, dammit. At least they’re warm.

1 Response to “Smooth, or Ribbed?”


  1. January 31, 2010 at 8:53 am

    Thank you for stopping by my blog this morning and leaving a comment 🙂

    I do have some insight about the socks! I’ve noticed that when I do a K2, P2 ribbing, I tend to need to go down at least one needle size to compensate for the looser gauge. All that taking the yarn back and forth (well, with the way *I* knit anyway — I’m a thrower), makes for looser ribbing. It’s not uncommon for me to start with smaller gauge set of DPNs to do the ribbing and the heel flaps.

    (I do love your boys’ socks though!)


Leave a Reply

