06
Sep
11

Summer Knitting, Fall Daybreak

I loved this knit. Lovedlovedloved it. I loved watching the colors develop. So much fun, especially on a camping trip to Rangeley:

I used Reynolds Whiskey in brown and Noro Silk Garden Sock – don’t know the colorway. I will confess to cutting yards of brown and black out of the skein as I came to them. I worried they’d blend into the brown stripes too much.  I think it was a good call. This is the Daybreak Shawl:

In retrospect, I maybe should’ve followed the advice of many on Ravelry and used yarnovers along the top egde to loosen it up. It  didn’t loosen as much as I’d hoped during blocking, but it still works.  I’m a freak for fall colors, and I also just love this design. I would definitely knit it again.

2 Responses to “Summer Knitting, Fall Daybreak”


  1. September 8, 2011 at 6:00 pm

    I LOVE the colors! Fall, earthy colors are my fave too though

  2. 2 Ana
    March 14, 2012 at 8:43 am

    This is beautiful! Cutting out the colors you don’t like is a great idea! Better to cut out those pieces than end up with a shawl you like less.

    It’s a shame you won’t be able to make the yarn crawl in Salem this year. I am so excited about my trunk show! :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

